Oregon Lawmakers Voting to do Away with the Electoral College


Lawmakers in Oregon passed legislation that would award Electoral College votes only to presidential candidates who win the popular vote.

The law has currently passed in 11 states possessing 165 electoral votes.  Those states include CA, DC, HI, IL, MA, MD, NJ, NY, RI, VT, and WA.  The bill will become active once states possessing an additional 105 electoral votes pass similar laws.

Oregon House of Representatives has passed a similar bill before, but they have all been killed in the Senate.  If passed in the Senate and signed by the Governor, House Bill would add Oregon to the 11 states that have already jointed the national popular vote compact.  This legislation comes on the heels of Trump’s victory, where he lost the popular vote, but won the Electoral College.  Two of the last five presidents were elected by the Electoral College despite losing the popular vote, Both Trump and George W. Bush.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *